Fireflies by Kiki

Good evening, Guys! Kiki here. I go to a home-school book club at my library once a month. Well, we decided in April that in May we were going to bring in our favorite poet and their poem and then we have the option of writing one ourselves. Well, of course I was like: I’m going to write something!

I wasn’t serious at first because I had a month to complete it but next Monday is when it is so I was wracking my brain last night and I had nothing. I call it Poets block. Ever had it? It’s terrible.

Early today I got the idea of fireflies and went with it. I started think of rhymes and stanzas and here’s what I came up with πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

pexels-photo-52907 lights

When Darkness falls over the skies-                                                

 It’s just a matter of time-              

Till the earth becomes relit-        

By the curious fireflies-

 

I run, jump, and leap with all my might-                                                 

 To try to catch the precious light-

In my hands I stare in Awe-      

How can they be this small?-

 

I wish the night could go on forever-                                                

Or the summer could never be gone-                                                

 But time is to clever-              

Before you know it its dawn-

 

Thank you for reading! Comment down below how you like it and if you like to write poetry too!

‘Till next time,

3 girls

Ps: How do you like my new Sign-off?

28 thoughts on “Fireflies by Kiki

Leave a Reply

